Give me 60 minutes and I’ll show you India!

This weekend, I watched a series called “The Story of India”. Turned out to be the best 60 minutes I ever spent in front of the TV! Story of India is a fabulous series produced by BBC and PBS hosted by Michael Woods. In the 6 episode series, he takes you through the incredible journey that is India. His passion for history and India itself make it a must watch for anyone visiting India. And even for those born and brought up there (like me), it had such amazing insights into things I took for granted, and things I never knew existed!

Bottom Line: It makes history fun, and is a must in every classroom of the digital era!

My personal favorite moments from Episode 1:

Right at the beginning when he explores the oral traditions of the brahmins in Kerala. I know they we have traditions that date back to 3000-4000 BC but the fact that they could predate speech and be derived from bird calls (yeah!!) was fascinating! I love the part where they provide conclusive evidence for the existence of river Saraswathi (a tributary of the Indus) and trace the shift of civilization eastward when it dries up. Not to mention his hunt to recreate somras, the elixir of life and the drink of the gods.

Though the entire series might be a little dreamy eyed for some people who experience the hardships of daily living in India, it’s this vision of India I carry with me in my heart.

2 thoughts on “Give me 60 minutes and I’ll show you India!

Leave a comment